Fandoms Galore

Wordpress.com

Literature Tuesday: My Thoughts on Animal Farm

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, Happy New Year and Happy Valentine’s Day!!

These are pretty much all the holidays I missed celebrating on the site while I was busy doing other things, but I’m back now and I hope to stay longer than usual because I’ve really missed writing. I hope you all had great holidays and that the rest of this year will be a good one for you. Without further ado, let’s jump right into Animal Farm.

Back in August, I read George Orwell’s Animal Farm which of course is a classic text in the world of literature and is something I wish I would have read a long time ago considering the fact that it was one of those books that people would not stop talking about while I was growing up.

Written in 1945, the novel follows the lives of farm animals who seek to overthrow their cruel owner Mr. Jones. The two main characters Snowball and Napoleon, who are pigs, lead the rest of the animals in the rebellion that eventually leaves them with complete control over the farm. Unfortunately, all is not well as a power struggle between Snowball and Napoleon grows, effecting the brood in the most negative way.

Scholars note that Animal Farm reflects on the events of the Russian Revolution of 1917, but rather than talk about the parallels the book has with that point in time (mostly because I would have to crack open a history book in order to know all the details), I’m going to discuss how I felt while reading it.

First off, Animal Farm is definitely an entertaining read. I love how the perspective is kept on the animals as we explore what they’re thinking and feeling and how they all band together to defeat a great evil. Even though the animals are- um, animals, they speak to each other like humans and clearly have enough intelligence to overtake the farm, I mean they even learn how to read and write.

I also enjoy how their problems were not automatically solved once they were in control. They had to decide who would lead them, come up with a way to keep the farm running, fend off attacks from neighboring farmers and create their own rules or “The Seven Commandments of Animalism.” The rebellion against Mr. Jones is actually dealt with early in the book, which leaves more time for the new world the animals created to develop. You could pretty much compare the animals’ uprising to any rebellion or social unrest that’s been going on in the news lately and because of that, this novel is timeless.

Throughout history and beyond, there will always be people who feel wronged by the ones in power, rebellions and revolutions will arise with the hope of overthrowing those people in power and new leaders who start out with good intentions will either not get things done fast enough or succumb to greed dooming all who are beneath them.  All of these traits happen in the span of this novel and they are happening right now as you read this. I think that’s what I love most about Animal Farm. It is a simple story about farm animals that actually relates more to the issues humans deal with than you realize.

And of course I can’t end this post without discussing the ending. It’s absolutely perfect!

That’s all you need to know. Saying anything else would spoil it for you, but considering that this is a 70-year-old book I think everyone and their grandmother knows how it ends.

Have you read Animal Farm? If so, what did you think about it and do you agree that it is a timeless novel? Leave your comments below and thanks for reading!! XD

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2015 by .
